Why You’ll Be Behind If You Don’t Adopt Now

Today I received this email from Emma Williams, Managing Editor, Schmap Guides:
I am delighted to let you know that your photo has been selected for inclusion in the newly released sixth edition of our Schmap Los Angeles Guide:
Getty Center

If you use an iPhone or iPod touch, then this same link will take you directly to your photo in the iPhone version of our guide. On a desktop computer, you can still see exactly how your photo is displayed and credited in the iPhone version of our guide at:
Getty Center

Thanks so much for letting us include your photo – please enjoy the guide!

I must confess, Emma and I have emailed previously.
Once.

When ‘she’ wrote to ask if I would give permission for them to use my photo. The photo I’d posted to a Flickr group for Hostelling International. The group is a place for Rocky Mountain folks to post travel pictures, and I had shared a pic I’d taken of the Getty Center in Los Angeles.

HOW Schmap found me & my pic (the theoretical how, not the actual searching for photos tagged with ‘Los Angeles’ at Flickr) is mind-boggling. Not to mention the logistical coordination of obtaining permission, interfacing Flickr photos with a map, and essentially publishing a travel guide.
The genius of this is multi-faceted. And that’s not even dwelling on the marketing side of things!
Now here I am, marketing their albeit free travel map. Made you look, didn’t I?!

If organizations can throw something as innocent as a photo to the proverbial internet wind, and it can get caught up in the maelstrom of viral marketing, there’s no telling where that might lead, am I right??

Leave a comment

Filed under Making the Case

Leave a Reply

